Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Athletic Training Status Quo or No?

Over the years of working as an Athletic Trainer I've worked in a wide variety of settings; industrial Athletic Training, Wellness, clinical Athletic Training, the high-school setting, the college setting, sports performance Athletic Training, and minor league baseball, hockey,and basketball Athletic Trainer. Regardless of the setting there were the same problems that prevented any advancement that I noticed:
1) The referral system
2) Working for a physical therapy company
3) Athletes/Patients misunderstanding the profession
4) Being overworked, underpaid, and undervalued

Don't get me wrong I have a great passion for what I do and there are plenty of athletes and patients who appreciate their Athletic Trainer, but why isn't it universally understood and compensated appropriately? I have a few theories to why this is.