Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Who you know or what you know?

How does one move to a higher position in the A.T profession? currently i have been working at the Junior college level, for many years, and looking to move up to university level in my state. So recently i have been applying for A.T positions either it be head or assistant. My experience has been confusion, and frustration. Seems like head A.T positions are taken by the assistants moving up, or if the AT knows someone at that university.
Doesn't seem like H.R or head AT evaluate you on what you know, or years of experience. OK i understand Nata has this whole thing on networking, talking to others, rubbing elbows etc., but has our profession gotten to who you know rather than what you know?
any thoughts would be helpful.

Comments

• Hi Joe,

I think this is the case for most professions not just athletic training. I always tell students getting the job is often who you know and keeping the job is what you know. Which is also why I stress the importance of a variety of internship/mentorship opportunities as as student and then even as a professional.

I also think it is important to not only network and get to know people but to also work to get your name out in the field by writing articles (not only peer reviewed research articles, but even things for magazines, online content, etc), participating in online discussions/forums, continuing education workshops, and other things that can help you create your own brand.