Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Baseline Concussion Testing

Good Afternoon Everyone!
New to the site and am feeling hopeful you all can provide with your tricks to the trade! I've just completed my first full year as an ATC in the high school setting. Since completion I've been reflecting on things that I'd like to do differently in the fall. I've been doing some research on what kind of tests ATCs use for baseline concussion testing. Just curious on what everyone here uses if you do any kind of baseline testing.

Thanks for the advice in advance!

Comments

• Hi Julie, I've been using ImPact baseline testing for 20+ years. I think it has limited value and is just a tool, but I haven't seen anything better. We group test our freshman and junior contact sports. You must ensure that you have a quiet testing area with no distractions, or your baselines will be of little value. Athlete motivation is sometimes an issue. I tell them if you don't score in the expected range for their age group, then you have to come back and take it again during a practice. We often find their freshman baseline is significantly better than their freshman one, so we compare to both.

We then test kids under two circumstances. One, if we think a kid has symptoms and is not honest with us, and two, after they have reported all symptoms have resolved to confirm they are back to normal. The only other time would be if requested by the treating physician. I don't see much value in early testing while symptomatic.

Hope this helps.